ListenLarger documents may require additional load time.
National Cartoonists Society: People with Big Noses and Big Feet to Get Big Awards!
PR Newswire. (Apr. 23, 2001):
Full Text: 

BOCA RATON, Florida, April 23 /PRNewswire Interactive News Release/ -- Cartoonists from around the world will descend on Boca Raton, Florida for the 55th annual Reuben Awards weekend May 26-31. Boca Raton is the home of the International Museum of Cartoon Art, founded in 1997 by Mort Walker, creator of Beetle Bailey. It is arguably the largest and most prestigious cartoon art museum in the world.

The three-day event will climax with the presentation of The Reuben Award to the outstanding cartoonist of the year on Saturday night at a black-tie dinner. Past Reuben winners include Scott Adams, Sergio Aragones, Garry Trudeau, Gary Larson, Cathy Guisewite, Mike Peters, Jim Davis, Lynn Johnston, Bill Watterson, Charles Schulz... the list goes back for 54 years. This years nominees are Pat Brady (Rose Is Rose), Jack Davis (MAD Magazine) and Matt Groening, creator of The Simpsons.

The National Cartoonists Society is a professional organization of over 600 of the world's top cartoonists from all venues of the craft. There's 13 divisions, including editorial cartooning, animation, comic strips, magazine gags, comic books and the newly established New Media division.

Below is a list of this years nominees. They represent the very best in their craft. More than likely, some of them are published in your newspaper or live in your circulation area.

Check out the list. We invite new media to visit our website at for photos and samples of artwork and contact information for the 2001 nominees. Further, you are invited to contact our media representative at (704) 358-5180 for higher resolution files of the art samples and mugshots of our nominees.

Nominees, hometowns and feature or publication (in alphabetical order):

Reuben Award (for outstanding cartoonist of the year)

* Pat Brady, Sycamore, IL, "Rose is Rose"

* Jack Davis, St. Simons Island, GA, MAD Magazine, advertising

* Matt Groening, Los Angeles, CA, "The Simpsons"

Comic Books

* Dan DeCarlo, Scarsdale, NY, "Betty and Veronica"

* Kevin O'Neill, London, UK, "The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen"

* Jeff Smith, Columbus, OH, "Bone"

Greeting Cards

* Bill Brewer, Kansas City, MO

* Benita Epstein, Cardiff-By-The-Sea, CA

* Anne Gibbons, New York, NY

Newspaper Comic Strip

* Bud Bake, Damariscotta, ME, "Tiger"

* Frank Cho, Elliott City, MD, "Liberty Meadows"

* Mike Peters, Sarasota, FL, "Mother Goose and Grimm"

Magazine Gag Cartoons

* Pat Byrnes, Chicago, IL

* Benita Epstein, Cardiff-By-The-Sea, CA

* Kim Warp, Renton, WA

Book Illustration

* Doug Cushman, Redding, CA, "What Dads Can't Do"

* Mike Lester, Rome, GA., "A Is For Salad"

* Bob Staake, St. Louis, MO, "Mighty Little Lion Hunter" and "Junes Tune"

Magazine Illustration

* Mark Brewer, Avon, CT

* Peter deSeve, Brooklyn, NY

* Drew Friedman, Cresco, PA

* Mike Lester, Rome, GA

Editorial Cartoons

* Frank Cammuso, Syracuse Herald American

* Jerry Holbert, Boston Herald

* Jeff Parker, Florida Today

* Mike Peters, Dayton Daily News

Newspaper Gag Panels

* Dave Coverly, Ann Arbor, MI, "Speed Bumps"

* Dan Piraro, Dallas, TX, "Bizarro"

* Dave Whamond, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, "Reality Check"

New Media

* Jerry Craft, Norwalk, CT, "Baseball Slang"

* Mark Fiore, San Francisco, CA, "Editorial Cartoons"

* Bill Hinds, Spring, TX, "Buzz Beamer" www.

Television Animation

* Gary Baseman, Hancock Park, CA, "Teacher's Pet"

* Rick Kirkman, Glendale, AZ, "Baby Blues"

* Matther Nastuk Glendale, CA, "The Simpsons 2000 Halloween"

Feature Animation

* Thom Enriquez, storyboard, "Dinosaurs"

* Eric Goldbeg, design, direction and animation, "Rhapsody in Blue"

* Nick Park and Peter Lord, design and direction, "Chicken Run


Source Citation   (MLA 8th Edition)
"National Cartoonists Society: People with Big Noses and Big Feet to Get Big Awards!" PR Newswire, 23 Apr. 2001. Academic OneFile, Accessed 21 Oct. 2018.

Gale Document Number: GALE|A73526476