The Hunger Games


The Hunger Games is the first novel in a trilogy by American writer Suzanne Collins. The 2008 work is set in Panem, a North American dystopia divided into twelve districts ruled by the Capitol. Residents of the districts live in poverty while those in the Capitol enjoy lives of plenty. Many years earlier a thirteenth district was destroyed after an uprising. In retribution, the Capitol forces each remaining district to send two tributes—a boy and girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen—to the annual Hunger Games. The single victor in this fight to the death, which is broadcast throughout Panem, wins a lifetime of ease and one year of extra rations for his or her home district. The novel's...

Read more

More Quick Facts

  • The Hunger Games (Novel)
  • Author

    • Collins, Suzanne
  • Published

    • January 01, 2008
  • Genre

    • Novel
  • Language

    • English
  • Major Characters

    • Everdeen, Katniss (Fictional character)

On This Page

    • Copy the Bookmark URL

    Email Bookmark:

    Separate each e-mail address with a semicolon
    Note:The Bookmark will be sent with the above message