Republic of Cuba
Repûblica de Cuba CAPITAL: Havana FLAG: The flag consists of five alternating blue and white horizontal stripes intersected from the hoist side by a red triangle containing a white five-pointed star. ANTHEM: La Bayamesa (The Bayamo Song) MONETARY UNIT: There are two official currencies used in Cuba: the Cuban Peso (CUP) and the Cuban Convertible Peso (CUC). The CUP is used less than the CUC and is not exchanged outside of Cuba. The CUC is pegged to the US dollar and is generally used by tourists. The CUP of 100 centavos is a paper currency. Frequently used coins are 1, 2, 5, and 20 centavos, as well as 1 and 3 pesos. Frequently used banknotes are...

Read more

More Quick Facts

  • Cuba
  • Continent

    • North America
  • Capital City

    • Havana, Cuba
  • Population

    • 11,147,407 (July 2017 est.)
  • Language(s)

    • Spanish
  • Long Name

    • Republic of Cuba
  • Type of Government

    • One-party state
  • Currency

    • CUP Cuban Peso
  • GDP (PPP) in U.S.$

    • $6,570 (2013)
  • Area

    • 42,803 mi²
    • (110,860 km²)
  • Average Life Expectancy

    • 78.8 (2017 est.)
  • Literacy Rate

    • 99.8% (2015 est.)

On This Page

    • Copy the Bookmark URL

    Email Bookmark:

    Separate each e-mail address with a semicolon
    Note:The Bookmark will be sent with the above message